“The Knight of Xeo” – part 45: “Taking Flight”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

I gulped as a realization dawned. I would have to jump. Peering over window frame, I noticed the ground being quite far away. Trust. Oh okay. I took a deep breath as I shakily climbed upon the window sill, grasping onto the frame for dear life. I’m going to die. With that, I leapt into the air with as much force as I could muster.

As soon as I left the sill, my eyes shut. Thoughts of death ran rampant through my mind. After several seconds, I still didn’t feel fur or even feathers. Maybe I was just too scared for my mind to process anything. All I saw through my eyelids was the glowing stone from the other reality. I willed myself to open my eyes to see the creature, though I didn’t expect him to be behind me. However, I did fully expect to be quickly falling toward the ground. Nevertheless, I screamed loudly while my heart pounded ferociously as I pummeled toward the earth.

The bird-like creature dove faster than I imagine most birds could. Just before I reached the treeline, I landed on his back with a large thud. Pain jolted quickly all over my body. The creature reared up and began to gain altitude until he was in the clouds.

I couldn’t concentrate enough to communicate with the mysterious man. As my hair whipped across my face, my arms held onto the creature’s neck, and I refused to fall again. The feathers made it very difficult to have a decent grip, and it didn’t help that his neck was too thick for me to wrap my arms all the way around.

I’m sorry, I thought as I held onto a bunch of feathers. I just don’t want to fall.

I’ve been through worse than a child grabbing onto my neck. And when we level off, you won’t need to hold on so tight. I don’t intend to let you die. The voice was unlike the other voice I had been hearing. Instead, it was smoother and lighter, though certainly a male’s. It wasn’t as deep, but I didn’t mind it at all.

I’m guessing. . . you spoke to me, Mr., hmm, what do I call you?

The creature turned his head toward me. Yes, I did. You can call me Torret. Now, I must know. Do you call yourself Kasha, the young lady?

I don’t even know.

Interesting. I can tell that you are xeonian, or else you would not have been able to speak to me or my companion in the first place, Torret mused. On top of that, you jumped farther than any human could in their short lifetime.

I would have shaken my head, but we were flying so fast that my head was forced to stay straight. This must be a dream if I can leap so far. That’s not possible.

Torret laughed, I think. Like my companion, you can gather energy from nature, store it within your body, and release it on your will. It is similar to the way plants gather energy from the sun to then make sugar for them to use for later. Since you already gather energy to breathe with food, you can use the energy you stored for other purposes.

Can all xeonians do that?

No.

Why not?

Put simply, you and my companion have capabilities that are beyond most of your people.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 44 – A Gryphon? Why Not?)

Next (Part 46 – A Missing Princess)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

One thought on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 45: “Taking Flight”

Leave a Reply!

