“The Knight of Xeo” – part 43: “Mystified”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

“Stop being cryptic and tell me what it’s doing!”

“If I told you, it would not be as interesting, young lady.”

I began to ponder over his words. It didn’t make sense for him to say that I’d shown much fighting spirit at all. If I had much to spare, I surely would have tried to flee more than once before now. What could he have meant?

“It is important for you to focus and tell me all you know,” Ad’juk urged. “Time is short, and yours may be even shorter.”

I wanted to find out where he was so that I could glare at him. “Is that a threat?”

“It all depends. Now, cooperate.”

“I already told you that I don’t know.”

Ad’juk didn’t speak for a short while. In the meantime, I tried to refocus on escaping. Since I had no idea of what the vents were like, I would have to improvise as soon as I jumped up into the vent. It seemed straight-forward when looked at that way. No sense in planning for the unknown. I tried not to think about what would happen if I was caught. If I did, I probably wouldn’t even try.

“There are other ways to find out if you won’t tell us directly.”

The air vents above began to roar. As I looked up, hot air mixed with mist began flowing into the room. Ad’juk apparently did not want to waste time. The mixture came in a gust rather than a nice breeze. My hair flew around like a wild horse, making me wish I could simply move it to the side. In a few minutes, I could feel a thin layer of water accumulate on my face. It wasn’t enough to start rolling down toward my chin, so it remained a constant tingling that I could not forget about. I was blinded by the whole purpose. If he thought that making the air humid was going to make me talk, he must be insane.

Ad’juk had fallen silent. What is he up to?

Time passed by and the humidity continued to increase. Strangely, my eyelids began to feel heavy. My face was numbing to the water mask. Even the irritating noise of the vents became white noise. What is in this air? Sleeping gas? I couldn’t smell anything out of the ordinary. Then again, it was possible that the air was never my kind of ordinary in the first place. It was getting harder to think again. Each passing second, my mind drifted off more. I turned my head, trying to focus on something. The door would have been my first choice, but the glowing stone caught my eyes first.

What do you do anyway? Do you simply exist to emit light? With this world or reality, whichever it is, I wouldn’t be surprised if you do something more. This feeling I get when I am in the other reality, and even now – is it from you? Or do I keep on hallucinating? My thoughts progressively made no sense. I was thinking about a stone. Even as I fell asleep, I couldn’t shake the feeling that it wasn’t simply a rock.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 42 – Suspicion)

Next (Part 44 – A Gryphon? Why Not?)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 43: “Mystified”

Leave a Reply!

