“The Knight of Xeo” – part 41: “Forming a Plan”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

Hmm. . . Perhaps that would work.

What?

You know that with nature speak, we can converse with animals, yes?

Maybe. I’ve only dreamed I could.

You can in this world too. Give me a little time to prepare. In the meantime, come up with a plan to escape. Be ready to act soon.

I sighed. At least I had more ideas to glean from. How many dwarves are in this building?

I have only seen four, young lady. All of them have been monitoring me since my recapture.

So there are at least six of them down here that I’ll have to watch out for.

Likely, there are more somewhere. Seeing that I have not sensed them nearby, they must be located elsewhere. If you know how to sense life forms as well, I would advise you to keep track of other beings’ movements and stay away from them.

I…

Then just know that you have to stay out of the way of all dwarves.

The griddle covering the air vent was still a problem. Doubts rose on whether or not I could even remove it. Afterwards, I could focus on staying out of the dwarves’ line of sight. If only that were my only obstacle. Can you ask one of the animals to come help me?

I do not know the air vent paths well enough to guide them to where you are, nor do I have the ability to free them in my current condition. I’m sorry, young lady, I can not give you more help than a distraction.

I wondered how much time I had until the distraction he had in mind. Focus on what you do know, I told myself. The belts holding me down could hit the griddle and create an opening. I was not nearly tall enough to reach the air vent with or without the table. There is a chair in the room, as well as an annoying stone propped a pedestal. A hallway outside the door at least led to one other room. More beings were somewhere in the building, hostile or not. Of all the details, the chair could be what I need to reach the vent.

Slowly, a general plan was forming.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 40 – Searching for Escape Plans)

Next (Part 42 – Suspicion)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

One thought on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 41: “Forming a Plan”

Leave a Reply!

