“The Knight of Xeo” – part 39: “Weakness of the Mind”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

Other than being frustrated once more, nothing new. The dwarf Ad’juk was asking about someone I had been hearing in this other reality I’ve been traveling to.

As soon as he responded, I breathed a sigh of relief. This is not good. Young lady, don’t tell him anything. If he is interested in learning about it, he could gain the upperhand on our people. At least, more than he already has. Perhaps this was why they stole your memories. Without them, you are vulnerable.

I’m vulnerable with or without them. I’ve just been laying on this table, and I can’t even figure out how to get off of it. Aside from that, my head keeps on pounding from a rock of all things.

Several moments passed before he responded. I have no explanation for a rock, young lady, but I also had no idea such technology that currently invades my being even existed. These dwarves are full of surprises. It must be why they’ve been able to attack and prevail against our might at all in this war. In any case, I wish to ask you if you have tried to escape before, young lady.

I did. . . And I was caught. Certainly, my memories didn’t have anything to do with that.

Know that if you were at the same level as any other xeonian at your age, you would be able to tell if others were close to you. It could help with avoiding those dwarves.

How close?

Perhaps you could sense five or so of these rooms away from you in any direction. You might try to do this as you escape a second time, young lady. Now, once you do, find -.

Wait a second. I don’t even know if I can escape again. Don’t start planning out things yet.

You must try, young lady. For the sake of us all, you must try.

I took a deep breath in as I tried to convince myself that I had no choice. As I exhaled, my soul began to tingle and for a brief second, I thought I heard over a hundred voices crying for help. I’m trying too hard to convince myself. Ad’juk may be feared by other dwarves like Ermaj, but it doesn’t mean that he’d be so horrible as to imprison that many, right?

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 38 – Vulnerable)

Next (Part 40 – Searching for Escape Plans)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 39: “Weakness of the Mind”

Leave a Reply!

