“The Knight of Xeo” – part 35: “Talk with Ermaj”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO

All I have heard is that you are able to talk to others from afar and to various woodland creatures. Is that right? Can you actually do that?”

Maybe the other place I have been going to is actually real too. Maybe what I was just doing was linked with how I spoke with the snakes. But why do I go to another place that could be as real as this one? Did xeona, if that was really what I was, have the ability to move between different realities or worlds?

“Young lady?”

“Maybe. . .”

“If you could get me to the outside, maybe we can find out.” I watched him carefully for any signs at all. “I would have to be in nature to talk to animals, don’t I? We’re underground in some building, right?”

The chair creaked at every movement as Emraj shifted his body around. “I was told I had to keep you safe in this room, young lady. But, I could ask someone to bring in an animal.”

Inwardly sighing, I bobbed my head. “It could work. I don’t know. Where would you even keep animals here? It doesn’t seem like the wide open spaces they would like.”

“In various cages,” he said as though it was inconsequential. “Once Ad’juk comes back, I’ll ask. Oh, and by the way, you seem to have a very selective memory. Are you holding back because you want to leave?”

I hesitated and felt as though I was about to cross along a thin line over troubled waters. “I can only guess why. Maybe it’s because some things, I just know. I wish other memories weren’t so distant,” I trailed off. “Anyway, It doesn’t make any sense to me either.” My eyes wandered off to a corner of the room as wave of exhaustion crashed down upon me. Part of me gazed solemnly at the rough gray flooring met the walls. A few insects tumbled about. Instinctively, I knew that these bugs did not belong in the other world I had been visiting against my will. Again, I had no explanation for myself as to why. I just knew.

Ermaj waited patiently in his chair in the meantime, not speaking a word.

“Where did you learn to be so polite?”

“I’m not around royalty much, but I know what to do in their presence,” he said, shrugging. “But I learned by watching, never doing.”

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 34 – Shrouds of Mysteries and Rumors)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 35: “Talk with Ermaj”

Leave a Reply!

