“The Knight of Xeo” – part 32: “Silencing Territory of Agony”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

I… mmh… want to feel offended that… mmh… you don’t think this is real. But … mmh… I’m also glad you figured… mmh… it out.

Are you… in pain? And figured what out? I don’t need to be more lost than I already am.

Pain? Well, … mmh… you have already seen my… mmh… condition. You should… mmh… know. No, you’re not lost… at least, not nearly as much now.

Whoever this was, they made no more sense than anyone else I had ever met. Can you be any more vague? What do you even mean? Just because I’m young doesn’t mean you have to keep things from me.

At first, he didn’t respond. I had begun to think that no one would enlighten me. Well, I better start finding answers on my own.

Do you even know where you are?

Why didn’t you answer me?

Because I’m being monitored! Everyone in this underground building is! Including you. Any sudden changes in mood or in brain waves could mean harsh experimentation. Bone-chilling waves of pain shot out from his direction as soon as he finished his thought.

Do you know where I am?

My best guess is in the dwarves’ territory. They are the only species I have seen. Well, at least the only kind not being held under a needle and strapped down against his will. Another round of waves rolled in.

So I’m not hallucinating. That doctor really is a dwarf.

Yes. Why do I get the impression that you’re surprised? You should be all too familiar with them and every other kind of people in this world as one of the – aarghhh! This time, pain shook terribly from his form, as though they were seismic waves from an enormous earthquake. My body trembled in response, and if that wasn’t bad enough, a flash of the glowing stone pulsated in my mind and my chest erupted in a sharp, tearing torment. All I could think about was the agony ripping my soul apart. I fell away from the space as my concentration was obliterated, and began to feel my body, my physical body, convulsing.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 31 – Mental Escape)

Next (Part 33 – The Lost Guard, Ermaj)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 32: “Silencing Territory of Agony”

Leave a Reply!

