“The Knight of Xeo” – part 31: “Mental Escape”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

Now was not the time for me to try to communicate with him. My mind seemed to be tearing apart like last time. Concentrating was the last thing I could possibly do.

I can’t see you right now, but please hold on, young lady.

I couldn’t stand it much longer. Tears began to roll down my face. A women with a white coat on burst through the room. As my vision began to blur, I felt a cold metal touch my chest. The woman’s face dissolved away, as did everything else.

No, I won’t go back there! I refuse!

While I physically faded away, I imagined that I was escaping inside my own mind. As the idea formed, my heart tugged at it and the desire to separate myself from the seemingly endless loop of realities grew. Despite my head still rattling and my chest still aching, I reached out with thoughts filled with curiosity to figure out what it would be like. The more I dwelled on the idea, the more I was convinced that I was standing in a space where waves passed throughout the area and concentrated forms of the waves existed all over the place. Some were close to me, others seemed scattered all around me.

This is awesome.

My thoughts began to echo in my head, and when I fixated on one, it began to fly out beyond my being. Curiosity radiated from me and toward the areas in the strange space. I had no idea where it all was traveling. All I knew, or at least thought I knew, was that I was not in the dark hospital.

How could you be so ignorant?

Who is that? I thought. Still surrounded by a black space, I tried to search from the source. As I did this, a wave of pain shot out from my heart and I bent over, seething.

If only my mind could ignore the pain… I thought.

Can you not guess?

I took a deep breath. The waves of thought came from one of the concentrated forms in the space. This one didn’t move, but shaking waves sputtered out from it. Was it fear? Pain? Anger? I couldn’t tell.

Why am I even trying to figure out these waves? I’m just imagining all this, I thought to myself as my hands clasped over my chest. This is all in my mind. I shouldn’t think too hard on any of this.

I… mmh… want to feel offended that… mmh… you don’t think this is real. But … mmh… I’m also glad you figured… mmh… it out.

Are you… in pain? And figured what out? I don’t need to be more lost than I already am.

Pain? Well, … mmh… you have already seen my… mmh… condition. You should… mmh… know. No, you’re not lost… at least, not nearly as much now.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 30 – Breaking Vision… Again)

Next (Part 32 – Silencing Territory of Agony)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

One thought on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 31: “Mental Escape”

Leave a Reply!

