Goodbye, Familiar Paths

by Brianna G. Harte

Gone

Gone are the times I knew so well,

When life was predictable,

And I called rough paths common enemies.

Gone

Gone is a life among so many.

Now I shall spend it looking from beyond,

Whether or not I felt ready.

Now

Now I embrace the unpredictable,

When weather can beat down without reluctance

Or shine gently upon my soul.

Now

Now I can stay in one place

‘Til the day the world decides I am needed elsewhere

And the winds change once more.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

