What Make Me ME

by Brianna G. Harte

The steps I’ve always taken,

The baggage I’ve always carried,

The shoes I keep on wearing,

Are these what make me me?

Or do other things define me,

Show my personality through?

Can I leave those things behind,

To let the real me shine in the open?

The people I share joy in meeting

The songs that I listen to while alone

The activities I’ve dreamed of doing

May carry myself farther than

Those walks on which I always go.

Those splatters on a sketchbook,

Those story seeds strewn on the wall,

Those pictures I keep on taking,

Perhaps they say it all.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

_____________________________________________

First poem back after writing stories for a while. It feels good to write one again!

Leave a Reply!

