“The Knight of Xeo” – part 29: “Conversation in Few Words”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

As she sat down on a chair, she swung off her shoulder a simple brown bag.

“Who are you?” I asked. “Why are you here?”

For a second, her eyebrows turned inward, but this quickly disappeared. As she reached into her bag, a spark of curiosity flashed in her eyes. She brought out a pad of paper and a pen and motioned around with the pen above the surface. She pushed them toward me and gave me a nod. Confusion quickly turned into interest as I took both objects from her earnestly.

Smiling, her hand fell upon her chest. “Gwen.” She repeated this word and then gently took my wrist into her hand and placed it on my own heart.

“I don’t get it…”

The woman did the same thing a few times until I realized she was saying her name. It was a part of her. I was tempted to say Kasha. It was what the doctor in the other reality had called me. Could I really believe that it was my own?

A sigh released from the lips of the woman, as though she did not believe that I understood. I pursed my lips, desiring to give an answer. It was hard for me to say anything when I didn’t even know if it was true. I hated not having memories from too far back.

Taking a shaky breath, I placed my fingers over my heart. “K-Kasha.”

The woman, Gwen I guess I should call her, nodded her head. She then reached into her bag and brought out several large cards. The first of which had pictures of several emotions on it. She motioned to her face that had a smile and pointed to the upper left hand corner, which exaggerated the expression, but matched it more than any other. Gwen then pointed to me and tapped on the boards.

After thinking about it, I selected two faces. One that seemed sad and the other that looked lost to me. “Why are you asking me?”

She didn’t respond. Simply, she continued to the next card. Several scenes were in their own boxes. Looking at each of them made my eyes hurt. Gwen motioned to the paper that was in my lap, and I thought I understood.

I began to draw a circle with the hospital bed with me laying upon it, the window, and Gwen. The picture seemed pretty simple and light to me. I didn’t draw the door because I didn’t know what was beyond it and at the moment, this didn’t spark my curiosity enough. On the other side of the paper, I drew another circle. In it, I tried to draw everything about the darker hospital that I still wasn’t convinced was a hospital. Jagged lines, chains, and anything that gave me the chills. I could feel Gwen watching my face contort upon recalling it all. In neither circle were any of the things that were on her card.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 28 – Just Dots on a Canvas)

Next (Part 30 – Breaking Vision… Again)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 29: “Conversation in Few Words”

Leave a Reply!

