“The Knight of Xeo” – part 28: “Just Dots on a Canvas”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

It may take you a while to grasp this, but I know you can because of who you are.

I opened my eyes and still, no one was there. My finger began to doodle along the wrinkles of the sheets as all the man said ran through my mind. When he said this world, did he mean that the other world was the one that I was an experiment in? And did he mean his people, or our people? As in I was a part of it?

I shifted my weight on the bed, unable to find a comfortable position. As he spoke about the events, tiny sparks erupted across my mind. It was like memories were trying to resurface. But it made no sense to me. I hugged my knees close. I wanted to have the blanks in my mind filled, and while I came out of his talk with more questions than I would have wanted to ask the stranger before, my heartbeat slowed. The feeling relieved me a little.

You must want to ask me questions. And you can do that soon. Right now though, you’ll have to be patient, young lady. There are a few things I must take care of first. Get some rest.

As mysteriously as he arrived in my mind, he left.

I wanted to be able to ask him without him present, in the same way he had been doing to me. Sighing, I realized this would get me nowhere unless I could sense nature. And that made no sense. There were far too many blanks. Too many questions to be unearthed.

Before I could think too hard on it, a knock came at the door. A short woman, about the age of the other women that had come before, came in. Her fairly dark hair was pulled behind her head and a gentle smile lay on her tan face. She wore a simple shirt, less simple than the people who wore only one color, and light brown pants. A tag was hanging from her shirt, which had her face on it along with words I could not read. Her demeanor seemed more relaxing, far less reactive, than the other people who had been in the room. As she sat down on a chair, she swung off her shoulder a simple brown bag.

“Who are you?” I asked. “Why are you here?”

For a second, her eyebrows turned inward, but this quickly disappeared. As she reached into her bag, a spark of curiosity flashed in her eyes. She brought out a pad of paper and a pen and motioned around with the pen above the surface. She pushed them toward me and gave me a nod. Confusion quickly turned into interest as I took both objects from her earnestly.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 27 – Spiritual Call and Cripple)

Next (Part 29 – Conversation in Few Words)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 28: “Just Dots on a Canvas”

Leave a Reply!

