“The Knight of Xeo” – part 27: “Spiritual Call and Cripple”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

I have let them know that I am what they call a guardian, someone who watches over you in the absence of your parents.

As if you’ve watched over me at all for all this time, I thought. I have had no memory, no contact with people I recognized, and no interactions at all from being underground. I didn’t think that the disembodied voice heard any of this, and he gave no indication that a word got through.

I propped myself on the bed and began to listen, eyes closed but all my senses were on high alert in case anyone came through the door.

To understand how I do it, it would make sense first to tell you why I communicate in this way rather than stand besides you and talk aloud. Speaking through nature is similar to opening yourself up to the world around you, though it is done through spirit. Your soul is the essence that connects your physical body to all other spirits. Naturally, most people hold back their mind because of fear, guilt, lack of trust, pride, and closed-mindedness. In order to move past these, you must recognize what holds you back and allow yourself to be at peace. For me, I lacked trust because our people had been told that the creatures called dwarves, the earthen dwellers in mountains and caves, could use our method of communication and abuse it. It had been a time of struggle. You had not been born yet when ill will passed between our people and theirs. It was a time of darkness, but it was not in the sense of lacking sunlight. Instead, fear attacked our people, and our main root of communication had been scorched. You see, unlike the world you are in right now, it was not common to speak aloud because it was both not our way, and it was far easier to communicate at farther distances by sending along our thoughts.

Since the time of darkness, I have let go of the fear that had taken my mind prisoner. It had caused turmoil among our people. I decided to not let it happen again. I trusted in nature to be a partner. When I send along my thoughts, I take in nature around me as though I am becoming one with it. Communicating full sentences takes time and practice. Sending your feelings is far easier and can even happen without you knowing. I could sense your fear only a short while ago, and you likely didn’t know you were doing this.

It may take you a while to grasp this, but I know you can because of who you are.

I opened my eyes and still, no one was there. My finger began to doodle along the wrinkles of the sheets as all the man said ran through my mind. When he said this world, did he mean that the other world was the one that I was an experiment in? And did he mean his people, or our people? As in I was a part of it?

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 26 – Communicating Through Nature)

Next (Part 28 – Just Dots on a Canvas)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

8 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 27: “Spiritual Call and Cripple”

  1. Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I adore your blog and love this post! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply!

