“The Knight of Xeo” – part 24: “Splitting Vision”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

With shaky legs, I shifted myself off of the bed and gradually stepped toward the window. The sun shined upon my face and warmth tingled my skin. To my dismay, that was nearly all I was going to see from nature. Buildings, both stout and reaching high, lay across the landscape. Smoke billowed from several and advanced toward the cloudy sky, a sight that cringed my nose. Hardly any fields of green or trees could be seen. The few patches that existed were ants to a mountain of other structures.

A creaking from the other side of my room broke through my trance and I jumped so hard, my heart began to race.

A man dressed in a simple light blue shirt and pants carrying a device around his neck stepped through the door. His eyes went directly to the bed I had been resting on and turned toward me. At this point, his shoulders relaxed. He began to speak, but I couldn’t understand him. While his tone was calm, I shrank backwards. He was a persistent one. With each phrase he spoke, I backed into a corner even more.

His eyebrows furrowed as his eyes narrowed. Once more he spoke, and I shook my head.

“Leave me alone! Who are you?”

The man tried to speak again.

“Get away from me!”

He sighed and slowly left the room, his shoes squeaking softly against the tile flooring.

As I turned to the window and rested my arms on the window sill, I wished silently that I could talk to someone who could communicate with me. A few minutes gazing at the little bit of nature down below was disrupted by a pain erupting in my head. It was as though it were being torn in two. The strain made me seethe, and I wanted to do was scream. I fell to the ground, pressing my fingers against my temples. My eyes were shut tight. I should have seen nothing but darkness. Instead, I started to see an image of the stone that had been set upon a pedestal. It was shaky and faded in and out of the blackness of my eyelids.

I could hear other people entering the room I was in, but I did not look. I could sense a couple people very close to me, speaking words that I couldn’t hope to understand. Someone touched my shoulder, and I immediately pushed them away.

My hair began to move across my face. “Leave me alone! Please!”

I opened my eyes just in time to see a syringe held by a woman in a dark blue plain shirt and pants approach me. Moving away quickly toward another corner, I protested. She tried to come toward me again.

Not again. Someone help me!

Then, an unexpected visitor swooped in and intervened.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 23 – Mentally Lost)

Next (Part 25 – Invisible Savior)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 24: “Splitting Vision”

Leave a Reply!

