“The Knight of Xeo” – part 18: “Wriggling to Freedom”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

In that case, I would have to remove the straps holding my body down, which unfortunately were far too strong for me to break. I attempted to move around my arms, to no avail. While wiggling though, I found that the bed was likely made for someone larger than I, so while unable to remove the belts, I could still escape. I shifted my body side to side, generally trying to move upwards. It was a slow process, but seeing as I would have waited around doing nothing until the doctor, who I was still very skeptical of, came back, it was worth it. I just hoped it wouldn’t give the doctor enough time to come back before I could get loose.

The rough material rubbed unforgivingly against my skin as I made my way out of the table’s clutches. I bit my lips together, not daring to alert the doctor, who could very well be lurking just beyond the door. A quarter of the way down. It seemed like I had put far too much effort to make it such a short distance, but then again, a wave of relief rushed throughout my body. Time seemed to disappear from my senses. My sole focus was on inching off of the uncomfortable table that reeked of experimentation.

Halfway came to my delight, but suspicion crept into my heart. Why had I been given such a long time to make so much progress? My eyes began to dart around the room for any cameras at all. After failed attempts to spot any, I inwardly laughed at myself. There would be no way that if any recording technology existed and they would not want me to know about it, of course it wouldn’t be in plain view.

Well, I’ve made it this far. Might as well continue.

I was on high alert for every passing minute as I squirmed. If the doctor were to come in before I was free, I did not want to know what was to follow. Then again, I had no plan on how to search the halls without noticing him if I did manage to get free. I supposed that planning ahead was not part of who I was, seeing as I somehow got into this mess in the first place and I did not believe a word that came from the doctor’s mouth about any disasters.

One more quarter to go.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 17 – The Unseen)

Next (Part 19 – Time’s Up)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 18: “Wriggling to Freedom”

Leave a Reply!

