“The Knight of Xeo” – part 17: “The Unseen”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

My body began to tingle. I couldn’t tell if it was a hallucination or a side effect of the medicine, but I unsuccessfully attempted to push it to the back of my mind. “And have you found something?”

“We’re running tests. You’ll just have to stay here, in this hospital, in the meantime. You’ll be able to leave this room soon enough though. All you need to do is cooperate and keep hallucinations in perspective.”

With that, he jotted down a few notes before departing through the door and again, I was left alone.

I wondered if when I closed my eyes, I would escape into the other ‘reality’. To my dismay, my rumbling stomach distracted me. How long had it been since I had eaten in this reality? It was difficult to say. Not recalling much of the reality in general was certainly a large part of it.

“Excuse me, but can I get something to eat?” I asked into the open air. When no response came, I called out in a louder voice. “Hello? Can I get something to eat?”

Muffled sounds from around me emerged from silence. The sounds were a mixture of incomprehensible words and groaning. It baffled me who they might be. Maybe they were also hospital patients, here to be cured for something. Or maybe, they were also experiments. What did they look like? How long had they been here? I began to ponder over if they could tell me what was going on.

The other half of my brain pointed out that I could think about all of that all I wanted, but there wasn’t going to be a bit of fruit produced unless I could leave the room. In that case, I would have to remove the straps holding my body down, which unfortunately were far too strong for me to break. I attempted to move around my arms, to no avail. While wiggling though, I found that the bed was likely made for someone larger than I, so while unable to remove the belts, I could still escape. I shifted my body side to side, generally trying to move upwards. It was a slow process, but seeing as I would have waited around doing nothing until the doctor, who I was still very skeptical of, came back, it was worth it. I just hoped it wouldn’t give the doctor enough time to come back before I could get loose.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 16 – Managing Hallucinations)

Next (Part 18 – Wriggling to Freedom)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 17: “The Unseen”

Leave a Reply!

