“The Knight of Xeo” – part 16: “Managing Hallucinations”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

Then, all around me began to shift. While the walls stayed the same, the doctor’s form started to change.

“Just making some adjustments.”

As his skin tanned to the shade of alder wood, large amounts of hair started to grow on his arms and face. His burly figure shortened dramatically, and his clothes shrank to fit, though they became much tighter and less clean. Muscles bulged beneath the white coat, making him appear to be the world’s most buff dwarf person.

“What are you?”

“Don’t be worried. It’s just the effects of the medicine.”

I closed my eyes, trying to convince myself that it was just a hallucination. My heart demanded with a fast beating that I should fear for my life. They had been tricked by my eyes or mind. It was hard to tell which. Breaths were forcibly slowed down until they came at a normal rate. The process took far longer than I wanted. Part of my mind wanted to focus on what was being poured into the liquid dripping into my veins. Unfortunately, the more thoughts I wanted to focus on, the harder it was for me to control just one. It was like putting out a wildfire while five more burning elsewhere.

My eyes only were unclenched when I was sure I could control myself and convince myself that none of it was real.

“Soon enough, I’ll be able to take you somewhere more comfortable,” the doctor said in a mildly comforting tone. “Right now, we must give you the proper medicine.”

Consciously trying to ignore his still shifted appearance, I asked, “Can you tell me what you’re even trying to treat me for?”

“As I recall, you lost your memory.” He eyed me, watching my face. “We are simply trying to solve the problem, though it is much more complicated than what we have faced before. You see, something happened recently and you blacked out. It was unknown as to why.” His voice lingered.

My body began to tingle. I couldn’t tell if it was a hallucination or a side effect of the medicine, but I unsuccessfully attempted to push it to the back of my mind. “And have you found something?”

“We’re running tests. You’ll just have to stay here, in this hospital, in the meantime. You’ll be able to leave this room soon enough though. All you need to do is cooperate and keep hallucinations in perspective.”

With that, he jotted down a few notes before departing through the door and again, I was left alone.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 15 – Test)

Next (Part 17 – The Unseen)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

3 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 16: “Managing Hallucinations”

  1. […] Previous (Part 16 – Managing Hallucinations) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply!

