“The Knight of Xeo” – part 15: “Test”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

 

“Everything is going well,” he spoke again. “Despite those strange dreams you keep having, your results are improving.”

My interest was peaked. “What results? What are you testing me for?”

“Oh, it’s just something of mine. You’ll see soon enough.”

My eyes widened as I inhaled deeply. “What kind of a hospital is this?”

“What do you mean, ‘it’s just something of yours’?” I demanded when the self-proclaimed doctor did not respond. “Aren’t hospitals for the benefit of the patients?”

While his face attempted a poker face, a chuckle could not be withheld. “It’s nothing to worry about. You see, you were put into our care by certain people.”

I practically rolled my eyes around my head. “You didn’t answer me.”

Taking down notes, he ignored me. “Have you been feeling low energy? Any reactions? Any strange feelings?”

“No,” I answered quickly, frustrated at him for waiving the question I had asked. “What kind of questions are those? I’m not some experiment. Hey! What are you doing?”

The doctor began to touch the bags leaking liquid through the needles into my body, adding a white powder to the solution. It immediately dissolved, leaving not a spec of solid visible to the naked eye. Without any knowledge of any types of powders or medications, I could not tell if what he was doing was supposed to help or hurt me. All I understood was that not too long after, I thought I heard a faint voice in my head. Then, all around me began to shift. While the walls stayed the same, the doctor’s form started to change.

“Just making some adjustments.”

As his skin tanned to the shade of alder wood, large amounts of hair started to grow on his arms and face. His burly figure shortened dramatically, and his clothes shrank to fit, though they became much tighter and less clean. Muscles bulged beneath the white coat, making him appear to be the world’s most buff dwarf person.

“What are you?”

“Don’t be worried. It’s just the effects of the medicine.”

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 14 – In a Bind)

Next (Part 16 – Managing Hallucinations)

One thought on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 15: “Test”

Leave a Reply!

