“The Knight of Xeo” – part 11: “Following Snakes”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

“Is this a dream?”

Why would this be a dream?

“I should have known that, whether a dream or reality, I would get that response. Look, I need time to think.”

You had gone very still for so long. Your skin turned ashen. What happened to you? We’re just concerned.

“Why would a bunch of snakes be concerned? That doctor wasn’t concerned. If a human wasn’t, why would a reptile?” The words left a taste of dirt in my mouth.

An unsure hum of thoughts surrounded me. Because you acknowledge us, interest us. We are drawn to you.

“Let’s just say that you snakes are drawn to me,” I thought aloud. “You haven’t been able to give me a believable explanation for as to why. You say that there’s some sort of barrier. It’s hard to think much of it without seeing it. And aren’t there others around the world to bother?”

You are bothered by us?

“I don’t know. I don’t even know if this is real or if the nightmare where I was held against a table with needles in my body was.” Sitting down onto the bed in a huff, I closed my eyes. A headache began to emerge as confusion settled in, both far more comfortable in their situation than I. Each attempt to sort out desires with my perception of what reality was lead me around a labyrinth. No end was in sight. What was real? If I belonged to a world where magic wasn’t real, wouldn’t the frightening fate inside of some sort of hospital be where I truly existed? A thought lingered. What if I belonged to a world where anything could happen? Or even many things could happen with a world of its own rules? Couldn’t either be true?

Perhaps we should leave if you don’t want us around.

Well, might as well explore this world in the meantime.

I jumped off of the bed. “Wait! Show me this barrier. It might help me understand what’s going on.”

Are you confident that you want to see, young one?

I nodded.

What if it hurts her?

Can she move past the barrier, or maybe move it?

They all had such high hopes for someone with no idea how any of it was possible.

Ready?

“Yes.”

All forty or so snakes started to make their way toward an earthen wall, waving their bodies back and forth on the ground. None hesitated in a dive straight through it.

“What do I do? I can’t go through tiny holes!”

No answer.

I guess this animal or reptile telepathy was restricted by distance. Why not? Slumping against the wall was my only option. My head fell back against the wall, and as it hit, a wall of dirt fell.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 10 – Air of Uncertainty)

Next (Part 11 – Gone)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 11: “Following Snakes”

Leave a Reply!

