“The Knight of Xeo” – part 9: “Blurred”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

I attempted to rid my mind of the thought, reminding myself that it was all just a dream.

Sitting upright, a shiver ran up my spine. “Doctor?” The word came out in a faint whisper. “This is no hospital.”

“Do you not see that this is a hospital room?” he asked, impatiently. “Perhaps your condition is worse than we thought.”

“Why would I be in a hospital?” I demanded. Distrust boiled in my blood.

“Try to calm down, Kasha,” the one claiming to be a doctor said with a huff.

“Why should I be calm? Wait, what are you attaching to me?” I asked, alarmed to see a needle pierce through my arm.

For a second, the man hesitated. In that moment, I tried to read him. Apparently, I did not have that skill. “This drug will help you sort out dream from reality. You have had far too many hallucinations, believing that you could talk to animals and of voices in the dark.”

Sparks in my brain came less frequently quickly, and clear thoughts began to blur like the clouds of feeling and ideas that the snakes had shown to me. Or was that fake? It was getting increasingly difficult for me to decide what was real, contrary to the doctor’s words. Pushing myself off of the bed, I attempted to walk around, hoping to see straight by action. Instead, my head began to spin. As I collapsed, the doctor rushed to catch me. My last look in the earthen cave was at a scruffy beard surrounded by scars.

***

The room I woke up in next smelled of something I could not name. Possibly because I still could not think straight. What I could process made me wish I hadn’t.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 8 – A Voice of Nightmares)

Next (Part 10 – Air of Uncertainty)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 9: “Blurred”

Leave a Reply!

