“The Knight of Xeo” – part 8: “A Voice of Nightmares”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

I jolted upright in an earthen room and immediately fell back down on the pillow in annoyance. Looking up, though, something was different. No peculiar fruit lay above my head. No vines crawling across the earthen walls. Curious, my eyes drifted to the ground. It was completely snake-free.

A long, trench coated figure with eyes beadier than a child’s necklace approached me gradually. His upright posture of a hefty figure combined with heavy footsteps along the dirt floor forced my mind to shirk in fear immediately. For a disturbingly long few seconds, not a word came from his lips. He seemed to stare down at something in his hairy hands, huffing every couple steps.

“It’s been a long time, Kasha,” a frighteningly familiar voice said. Only he was in the room. An image of darkness where a viper or rattlesnake seemed to suffocate me grabbed hold of my thoughts.

Instinctively, I backed up on the bed. “Get away from me.”

“I really hoped that you would cooperate with the doctor trying to help you,” he sighed. Despite the relaxation in his voice, it still gnawed at me, with those piercing words he once said to me. I attempted to rid my mind of the thought, reminding myself that it was all just a dream.

Sitting upright, a shiver ran up my spine. “Doctor?” The word came out in a faint whisper. “This is no hospital.”

“Do you not see that this is a hospital room?” he asked, impatiently. “Perhaps your condition is worse than we thought.”

“Why would I be in a hospital?” I demanded. Distrust boiled in my blood.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 7 – A Dream)

Next (Part 9 – Blurred)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 8: “A Voice of Nightmares”

  1. […] Previous (Part 6 – A Mystery)          Next (Part 8 – A Voice of Nightmares) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply!

