“The Knight of Xeo” – part 5: Time to Reflect

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “THE KNIGHT OF XEO”

Did you remember something? A few snakes still waiting in a circle around the bed asked. You seem. . . pensive.

“Maybe. But I don’t know what it means.”

My eyes drifted to the vines and I gently tugged on a plump fruit. As it came freely, I felt its skin, hoping to find other clues. None came to mind. At least, not yet.

With a deep breath, my feet touched the cold earthen floor. I hoped dearly that whatever was keeping the snakes spellbound, it didn’t waver. Goosebumps had begun to rise on my arms and legs as I stepped near them. As much as I disliked slithering creatures, I abhorred staying still more. I cautiously began to pace back and forth, trying to figure out what was going on. Something occurred to me while doing so.

I’ve never left this place, and yet, the multitude of snakes wandered in as they pleased. Inspecting the room, I huffed. Like I knew before, there was no visible doorway. Was this meant to be a shelter or a cell? If it were a cell, then the captors, whoever they were, surely knew that allowing for reptiles to wander about would agitate me further. But then again, why would they have allowed me access to sustenance? The fruit that strangely grew without sunlight tasted rather fine, always juicy which my tongue told me had always been a favorite quality.

If it were a shelter, did something happen to cause a panic? Were my parents or caregivers unable to care for me anymore?

Possibilities swarmed in my mind. Not one seemed clearer than the other.

You’ve been awfully quiet, indicated the hum from a lime green-scaled snake.

Have we upset you?

“Why do you care? I’m human and you’re, well, not.” Just after the last words fell from my lips, I pursed them, regretting speaking out so frankly.

Maybe it’s because you can understand us. And maybe, it’s because you might not be human.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 4 – Smudged)                   Next (Part 6 – A Mystery)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 5: Time to Reflect

  1. […] Previous (Part 3)                  Next (Part 5) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply!

