“The Knight of Xeo” – part 4: Smudged

by Brianna G. Harte

The truth gnawed at me. Perhaps the snakes could feel my agitation as I tried to remember the first time I entered into the underground room. Closing my eyes, I strained to imagine the last time my eyes lay upon the faces of a mother and father. All of it was a blur, as though someone smudged a painting beyond recognition. If only I had the paint, I could restore the portrait. A problem clear as a summer sky stared at me in the face. Where were the memories?

Again, I attempted to search my mind for anything beyond the earthen room. What I uncovered was not my parents. Instead, a golden design with a circle of carefully carved leaves and an unfamiliar symbol emerged. My heart sensed a weak connection to it, despite it just being an image.

Did you remember something? A few snakes still waiting in a circle around the bed asked. You seem. . . pensive.

“Maybe. But I don’t know what it means.”

My eyes drifted to the vines and I gently tugged on a plump fruit. As it came freely, I felt its skin, hoping to find other clues. None came to mind. At least, not yet.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Previous (Part 3 – Understanding Snakes)

Next (Part 5 – Time to Reflect)

~~~~~~

Jump to the Beginning of “The Knight of Xeo”

2 thoughts on ““The Knight of Xeo” – part 4: Smudged

  1. […] Previous (Part 2)                                Next (Part 4) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply!

