15-minute continuation of “Snake from the Abyss”

by Brianna G. Harte

PREVIOUSLY, ON “SNAKE FROM THE ABYSS”

I jolted awake, sucking in air in a panic. It wasn’t real. It wasn’t real. Shaking my head, images would not fade. The covers were pushed aside as feet swung to dangle over the side of the uncomfortable bed. Something cool, slightly rough, ran across the bottoms of my feet. No. Please no. Biting my lips, I switched the light on.

My scream could be heard for miles.

Every single snake slithering on its body shrank back as soon as my shriek began. Hugging my legs toward my chest and dropping my head, I counted quietly. Streams rooted from the edges of my eyes and gradually, my dress dampened. I don’t know how much time passed. All I knew was that when I tilted my head up, the creatures were still there. They lay in the exact position they were when I tucked myself away. It was a near-perfect circle around the bed.

My heart still beat fast and hard, enough that I heard it in my head. The constant thumping made it hard to think straight.

One thing I focused on was a single snake striped yellow and black, like so many of the others, that began to approach the bed. Slowly and cautiously, it made its way toward me. At first, I wasn’t sure what to do. Inside, I knew I could never hurt it. It just seemed. . . wrong. I also knew that there was nowhere to go. I simply let it come to my side as I bit my lips. The reptile wrapped around itself until finally letting its head come up.

“What do you want from me?” While speaking, a hiccup jumped through my chest.

I didn’t expect it to respond. In a way, it didn’t. However, I understood what it was thinking.

Copyright © 2017 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

I’m going to continue with this story, which I’ll be calling “The Knight of Xeo”. The plan is to add on to this every other day.

Previous (Part 1 – Snake from the Abyss)

Next (Part 3 – Understanding Snakes)

2 thoughts on “15-minute continuation of “Snake from the Abyss”

  1. […] The Knight of Xeo part 2 – a 15-minute continuation of “Snake from the Abyss” […]

    Like

Leave a Reply!

