Web of Regret

by Brianna G. Harte

Stuck in a moment

Cement hardened at my feet

No going back

No pushing forward

Nothing but here,

Where mistakes appeared,

Disintegrating what was there,

Leaving behind a gap to be filled.

Standing there and here

Without will to continue on,

The world rotated

The winds blew

Other lives moved on

As I acknowledged imperfection

Without walking toward improvement.

So I stand in a mess

Fighting myself to break free,

To search for a better way,

Stepping away from

I could have

I should have

I didn’t,

And toward

I can

I shall

I will.

Copyright © 2016 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

