“Waiting On The Other Side, 2”

by Brianna G. Harte

“Tell you in a second, but I must close this door first.” He hobbled over, not waiting for me to close it as I entered the small, simple room. A gentle thud followed. “Ah, so you’re asking about family. Wish I knew where mine was. They’re long gone I bet.”

“I’m sorry to hear that,” I sympathized. “But have you seen my little boy? I don’t know if he’s visiting me since I came to the hospital. I hope he’s alright.”

The man chuckled softly.

“What is so funny, sir?”

“How’s your little one going to see you?”

“Well, I would imagine my sister would bring him at some point. Certainly not my husband, since he’s the reason why I’m here in the first place.”

The man adjusted the bed he lay upon so that he sat up straighter. “Hearing you say that, I would assume that he is alive.”

“Why wouldn’t he be?” A breath stuck in my throat. “He’s not . . . my husband didn’t . . .”

“Calm down, dear. I don’t know your family. Frankly, I hardly know anyone. The fact of the matter is that your sister may not be able to see you. Neither will your son.”

“It’s not like I’m in this wing of the hospital,” I said confidently. “I just wanted to know where my family was.”

The man sighed. “Come here. Take a look in this mirror. My wife gave it to me last time she visited.”

A strange request, but I obliged. “It looks beautiful. Not a scratch on it.”

“Is that all you see?”

“Yes, but . . .” Then, it struck me. It was all I could see. Why wasn’t I in it? “Are you some sort of magician? That is an incredible trick.”

The bed creaked as the old man shook his head. “I’m sorry, but I don’t. I suppose you don’t understand. As much as I would like to not say this, you aren’t alive anymore.”

My eyes grew wide. “What do you mean, I’m not alive? Of course I am! I was in my hospital bed a few minutes ago! A photo of my family that my sister left me was at the bedside! This is a cruel joke, sir.”

“I’m not joking, dear. As hard as it is to hear it, you’re a ghost. I’ve been able to tell the difference between hallucinations and ghosts for a little time now. You are certainly not the former,” he chuckled. “And you are certainly not alive. Otherwise, you would have been able to see yourself in this mirror or be heard by anyone else in this wing.”

Copyright © 2016 Brianna G Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

