Clearing Sight

by Brianna G. Harte

Before I had heard

Tales of danger,

Tales of warning.

They pushed me away,

Away from what I could see.

A promise took me there.

Not a dare

Or a trick.

Courage was a magnet,

And someone put metal

At the heart of the tales.

Warnings shattered.

Apprehension dissipated.

While some may be true

And reason can hold,

Prejudgement only could paint

Little of what it could be told.

Light in my eyes

And feet on the ground,

The world seemed different,

And far more profound.

Although far from perfect

And from my cup of tea,

The place replaced an image

Created from fear

From warnings

Not changed in years.

Places do change.

Places do transform.

It is a lesson I learned,

One forever being taught.

Copyright © 2016 Brianna G Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

