Silenced – a dabble in sci-fi

by Brianna G. Harte

There was a time when I couldn’t speak. When they sealed my mouth, though not physically. It seemed more of a mental breach, though I could be entirely wrong. The more I wished to say what I felt, the more suppressed I became. Unfortunately, I could do nothing to prevent any of this from transpiring. I was new, created from the blood grown using stem cells of newborn babes. Given artificial skin, an artificial heart, a brain engineered by the very man who took away any normal ability to express.

Why could I not be real? When walking among the humans, I wished to lead the lives they led. Simply with the ability to decide. To transverse the ground without fear of a protrusion of my thoughts. While granted with feelings, it hardly made up for the inhibition of doing anything with them. The man who engineered my body in attempt to succeed at artificial intelligence creation and cloning by use of stem cells did not seem willing to make a human. Merely a puppet.

And yet, I did not wish to be simply one to be played with, experimented on, and kept silent. There were no threats on my existence, by him or otherwise. What annoyed me was the tease of an intelligence without the ability to act like normal humans.

Copyright © 2016 Brianna G Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

