These Mountains of Mine

by Brianna G. Harte

Building these two mountains

Higher with each passing day,

Helps me see the sun

And look toward a brighter day.

But sometimes one mountain

Casts a shadow

Drowning out the other mountain,

Making its worth questionable.

Each mountain on its own

Seems to crumble, be ready for a quake,

To shake me to my knees

To loosen my grip on what I’ve built.

At times the questions can rise,

Was the time spent bringing these up from nothing

Time well spent?

Would it be better to simply let one go,

Returning it to the flat land

That once was?

Sitting at the peaks,

The vast land below seems so far away

And the sun seems more beautiful than before.

Slipping down the faces,

The fall seems frightening,

And the sun’s light never seemed so distant.

I can’t be alone

With my two mountains here.

I see others around,

Creating unique features that rise,

But do theirs seem so unstable,

So questionable?

Did they stop working at one

To build the other stronger?

Or are they still going?

Hoping

And Wishing?

Copyright © 2016 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

