Such an Hour

by Brianna G. Harte

It’s late

Or it’s early…

I can’t exactly tell anymore.

The moon still shines

And the air’s still brisk.

Energy slowly fading away.

But determination gets me,

Keeps me awake at such an hour.

I must finish

I must.

I must!

Once I walk out

With a scarf wrapped

Snugly against my neck

And gloves keeping winds at bay,

I shall wonder the time.

If I’ve spent it well.

The moon can be my witness,

Bring her to the stand

As I trudge onward in the night.

Such a daily ordeal

Perhaps it has become mundane.

Until the day comes

When sleep is all I will do.

When tasks are done

And put away.

The jury can adjourn

And the blankets can say hello.

Copyright © 2016 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

