Smell of Progress in the Atmosphere

by Brianna G. Harte

Cramped fingers

Thick stench of expo

Filled papers strewn across the desk

Numb feet

Messy hair

Maybe I haven’t left the chair all day

but I’ve done a lot.

As deadlines close

and the weeks come to an end,

No one can say I didn’t try.

Not the atmosphere of the room

Not the pages of the notebook

Not my drive.

No matter the outcome,

I’m not done.

Maybe not tomorrow.

Maybe not even a week from now,

but it’ll happen.

I hope.

Copyright © 2015 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

