“On the Other Side, 10”

by Brianna G. Harte

I never realized how badly I needed that hug. Being excluded from the larger world must have torn at me more than I had ever wanted to show. Each time someone passed through me, a piece of joy disappeared from my heart. Although they could never have done it out of spite, their inability to acknowledge my existence even by touch hurt. Only now could I feel the emptiness in my heart that was starting to fill.

As we fell away from each other, we grinned and forgot that we could see right through each other’s eyes as they met.

A thought popped open. “Mama, there’s a human waiting over there, and it’s so funny because she can see me!”

She nodded. “Yes, some of the living can see us.”

“Come on!” I pulled her over toward the double doors when I realized that she was not nearly as excited about it as I was. If she saw Odessa, maybe she could feel like I do. I phased through the doors, bringing my mama with me.

“Look, Odessa! I found my mama!” I exclaimed with a big smile on my face.

An eyebrow raised. “Are you sure?”

I nodded enthusiastically.

Mama’s smile softened. “You are Odessa, I presume.”

Odessa nodded in turn.

“Well, Odessa, my name is Suzanne Patu. Harrison is indeed my son. I’ve been searching for him for so long and he found me in the hospital room.” Her expression didn’t change.

“She told me what happened and I saw memories of us together with daddy! Isn’t that cool?”

“Yes, quite. I guess you’re name is Harrison now?”

I shrugged. “Guess so.”

Odessa smiled hesitantly. “Alright then. Hey Harrison, could you make sure that the nurse is gone before we leave?”

“Sure!” I said as I ran through the door. Right afterward, I heard them starting to talk in soft tones. It was just faint enough that I had to be very close to the doors to catch anything.

“You don’t seem surprised to see that I can see you, Mrs. Patu,” Odessa noted.

“You are not the first to see me. Believe it or not, this hospital was very active last time I was here. When I walked through it the first time without my body, I noticed that some of them could see me, although all of the doctors and nurses could not. A fair amount on pain medications or other types of prescriptions even said hello,” Mama seemed to reminisce fondly.

“I see. I began to see Harrison after getting a concussion, actually.”

“Really?”

The conversation began to bore me, so I actually checked for the nurse. She was nowhere in sight. Maybe she left. I quickly dismissed that possibility as I heard, or rather felt, a spark of electricity suddenly shooting across the room.

Copyright © 2015 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

