“On the Other Side, 6”

by Brianna G. Harte

I had no idea what I meant, yet I inherently knew it was true.

“But you are now. No one can touch you.” Odessa faltered. “I’m sorry, that wasn’t right.”

“It’s true though,” I muttered, sulking.

Odessa knelt down so that she was my height. “You have got to think on the bright side. Whoever caused those scrapes won’t be able to come close to doing that again, you see?”

I walked through her, not sure how to respond. My eyes were glued to the tiles as I strode forward. Was feeling safe worth being lonely forever?

My fingers felt the lines running down my arms. They didn’t feel any different from any part of my body, but that could come from being a ghost. I wasn’t sure. No one could say otherwise.

“Odessa, are you sure they can’t come to me?”

She hesitated. “I wouldn’t think they could. Come on. Let’s talk about this in a place that doesn’t make you quiver so much.”

Cocking my head, I narrowed my eyes. It only then occurred to me that my shoulders were shaking. I tried to cease their trembling but couldn’t.

“Maybe . . . your body knows what is going on before your mind,” Odessa suggested. “Do you think that could be?”

I shrugged.  “I don’t remember anything before the ship.”

“Do you want to keep it that way?” Odessa asked. Her voice didn’t waver.

“What do you mean?”

“Would you want to learn about your life before the ship?”

I swiveled around to face Odessa. “Are you saying you know something?”

She shook her head. “If I did, I would have told you long ago. No, I’m saying we might be able to find out.”

“Don’t make a promise you can’t keep,” I told her. “My mama . . . she always told me that.” I gave Odessa a quizzical look. “How’d I know that?”

A ray of light seemed to fall on her, because she was beaming. “Maybe she told you it so much that you would never forget it. Oh, isn’t this wonderful? You do remember your past! Come, let’s go look at some records.”

“You have access to those?”

She winked. “My friend is an investigative reporter. Come.” Her strides forward didn’t last. “What’s wrong?”

“I don’t know if I want to know. What if something bad happened?” I asked.

Rather than be annoyed, she became gentler. “Look, honey, you don’t need to hide anymore. You are safe now, and you don’t have to stay in this world alone. I can help you. Maybe, just maybe, we can find your mother. You needn’t let go of fear.”

Silence filled the room.

“I’m sorry if I’m pushing too hard. It’s your choice.”

“No. I was just thinking. I want to say thank you. Thanks for wanting to help me.”

Odessa smiled and nodded. “My pleasure.”

Copyright © 2015 Brianna G. Harte. All rights reserved.

5 thoughts on ““On the Other Side, 6”

  1. jrwellens says:

    I really liked your writing. Would you mind reading what I have posted and telling me what you think? Thanks.

    Like

  2. […] Part 6: “On the Other Side, 6” […]

    Like

  3. […] Part 6: “On the Other Side, 6” […]

    Like

  4. […] 1~Part 2~Part 3~Part 4~Part 5~Part 6~Part 7~Part […]

    Like

Leave a Reply!

