A Diary or a Closed Door

by Brianna G. Harte

If I fell

Would you catch me?

My heart begs for a ‘yes’

but your body stays opaque.

I cannot see your soul

and find trust ready to leap.

Your secrecy

has closed doors to my questions,

leaving me wondering.

What might you

think about me?

Do you know

that my mind asks

are you a diary

I can fill with my past

and a future,

knowing a lock

would keep it safe?

Would you be

my fan, my friend, my peace?

my soft music, my companion?

All these questions

hide away

with no light ready to illuminate them.

Do you ask these too?

The problem with it all

is that if no one begins to ask

it will never start,

like an institution without a student,

and like a seed without fertile ground.

Who will start?

Just let me know.

Copyright © 2015 Brianna G Harte. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply!

